## Annual Report of the Faculty Research and Publication Board (FRPB) For Fiscal Year 2012-2013

The Faculty Research and Publications Board (FRPB) is a representative faculty board that functions to encourage faculty research, publications, scholarly activities, and artistic productions, and to fulfill the duties assigned to it by the Board of Trustees of the University of Northern Colorado as set forth in the Board Policy Manual. FRPB voting membership consists of one faculty representative from each college; three additional faculty representatives elected at large; one faculty representative from the University libraries; one faculty representative selected by the Faculty Senate, and one graduate student representative selected by the President of the Graduate Student Association (GSA). Five non-voting advisory members are also named to the committee, including the Graduate School Dean or designee, Director of IMT or designee, Representative of Academic Affairs, Academic Dean appointed by CAO, and the OSP Director or designee.

The committee is charged with reviewing applications for internal funding administered through the Office of Sponsored Programs. Representatives are also tasked with assisting colleagues in their various colleges, schools or departments in proposal development or revisions. In addition, this committee solicits nominations, reviews dossiers and votes for the A.M. & Jo Winchester Distinguished Scholar Award which is presented to the recipient at a banquet held each spring.

FRPB was chaired this year by Dr. Lory Clukey of the School of Nursing. Vice-Chair was Nancy Matchett of HSS. Voting members of the committee were: Rick Adams (At-large); John Clinebell (MCB); Lory Clukey (NHS, Chair); Mark Fetkewicz (PVA); Michael Kimball (Senate Appointment); Trent Lalonde (EBS); Jennifer Leffler (Libraries); Nancy Matchett (at-large, Vice Chair); Robert Weis (HSS); Ryan Middagh (Graduate Student Rep); Michelle Athanasiou (atlarge). Non-voting Advisory members were: Teresa McDevitt (Acting Assistant Vice President for Research); Donald Gudmundson (Representative Dean); Jeannette VanGalder (Chief Information Officer); Michele Schwietz (Director of the Office of Sponsored Programs). The program funds are administered by Sherry May (OSP).

The FRPB committee on behalf of faculty would like to thank Provost Dr. Robbyn Wacker and Acting Assistant VP for Research Dr. Teresa McDevitt for making funds available for internal awards. Over the past several years we have seen the quality of proposals dramatically improve. As a committee we feel that the peer review process has helped faculty to develop the skills through this internal funding review that are transferable to external grant proposal development. We are also grateful for the opportunity for faculty to be represented on this important committee. Committee participation has become known as a means to developing skills in proposal development.

The committee would like to acknowledge support and guidance of Ms. Sherry May and Dr. Michele Schwietz from the Office of Sponsored Programs who make it possible for the committee to function and who coordinate this very needed and useful program. We would also like to thank Ms. Arlene Hansen for her work on our webpage (http://www.unco.edu/frpb) which has made it much more user friendly.

The committee met eight times over the academic year to review grants and make awards. We reviewed 132 proposals and awarded 93 grants. Details of the awards are included in the table

below. Lists of successful grantees can be seen at the Office of Sponsored Programs SharePoint site: <u>https://shareosp.unco.edu/OSPExPRES/SitePages/Home.aspx</u> then click on the "Internal Grants" tab. One of the goals of the committee for the past few years has been to mentor colleagues in our various departments on grant applications so that skills are developed to write for external funding. We have noted a very positive trend in the applications we are receiving with proposals being submitted that are professional and address the guidelines for each of the funding sources.

We have worked diligently to make guidelines and the proposal process as straightforward as possible. This year the committee revised the Matrix used to guide potential applicants in choosing the most appropriate award for what they want to do. We also clarified guidelines for all the awards to make them consistent. The committee spent a good deal of time reflecting on and editing guidelines to make them as clear as possible so applicants can be successful in choosing the appropriate award and including the requested documentation and justification. In the next fiscal year we will be encouraging Deans and Directors to critically review proposals prior to submission to FRPB.

Program	# of	# of	\$ requested	\$ awarded
Provost Award for Travel-fall	26	20	\$54,288	\$37,552
New Project Proposals-fall	5	2	\$12,499	\$4,999
RDFD - fall	10	8	\$62,063	\$44,856
Provost Award for Travel-	42	31	\$89339	\$61,494
New Project Proposals-spring	9	5	\$22327	\$12122
RDFD-spring	14	7	\$121459	\$59698
Provost Award for Travel-spring	26	20	\$70,059	\$53,135
TOTAL	132	93	\$432,034	\$273,856

Overall Funding Requests and Awards for 2012-2013

## Annual Total for Each Program for 2012-2013

Fund	\$ requested	\$ awarded
New Project Program	\$34,826	\$17,121
Provost Award for Travel	\$213,686	\$152,181
RDFD	\$183,522	\$104,554

The committee is also responsible for requesting nominations and selecting the recipient of the Winchester Award. This year we had four nominations for the Winchester Award: Rick Adams; Joseph French; Ku Heng Yu; and William D. Woody. Dr. Rick Adams was selected as the recipient for this year's award. All candidates were impressive scholars. The committee suggests that Deans and Directors be advised by this committee of Winchester Award Criteria the first week of fall semester so that adequate time and consideration can be given regarding nominations. We would like to see more nominations for this award.

The committee leadership was also involved in a request from Dr. Teresa McDevitt regarding the development of a process and financial allocation of monies for support of publication fees.

After consultation between the committee and library faculty who are knowledgeable about publication trends, a decision to reduce the Provost funding by about \$30,000 was made in order to support a faculty publication fund. Dr. McDevitt will be working with library faculty to develop criteria for awarding these funds.

Again, we would like to acknowledge our appreciation for the support of faculty research through these Provost funds which allow faculty to engage in professional activity that would not be supported otherwise. These funds allow faculty to develop skills, take the risk of developing new projects, engage in professional activities for their own growth, travel to professional conferences, and engage in research and scholarly works that ultimately benefits UNC.

Respectfully submitted,

Lory Clukey PhD, PsyD, RN, CNS. FRPB Chair 2012-2013 UNC School of Nursing Gunter Box 125 Lory.clukey@unco.edu 970-351-2648